York ATHENA Leadership Award®

ATHENA International

The ATHENA Leadership Award® was inspired by the goddess of Greek mythology known for her strength, courage, wisdom and enlightenment — qualities embodied in the ATHENA Leadership Model. The Award is unique in both scope — local, national and international — and the ATHENA mission upon which it is based.


The ATHENA award is sponsored by:

ATHENA Leadership Model®

The ATHENA Leadership Award® is presented to a woman or a man who is honored for excellence, community service, and for actively assisting women in their attainment of professional leadership excellence and leadership skills. It is comprised of eight core tenets:

Authentic Self

Understanding who you are – your values, beliefs and thoughts.  Honoring your uniqueness.  Accepting personal responsibility for your actions.

 Celebration & Joy

Appreciating and acknowledging your accomplishments.  Looking forward to your life with a sense of hope and purpose.


Reaching out beyond what you can achieve on your own.  Working in unison with others, while celebrating diverse points of view, ideas and actions.

Courageous Acts

Standing up and standing firm in the face of fear.  Taking risks to speak the truth or challenge the way things have always been done.

Fierce Advocacy

Supporting and acting on your passion for people, causes or ideas.  Creating an unstoppable force for the greater good.

Giving Back

Serving the created good.  Committing to help your personal community of family, friends and peers as well as the global village at large.


Challenging yourself to listen and be open to what is new and unfamiliar.  Expanding and developing your knowledge, skills and experiences.  Teaching others.


Connecting with and embracing others.  Appreciating the gifts and talents of different people in your life.

York ATHENA® Recipients

1987  Alice Batigne, The Fabric Shop

1988  Josephine D. Appell, C. S. Davidson, Inc.

1989  Olive Padden, Olive Padden Real Estate

1990  Josephine (Josie) Barley, The Autumn House At Powder Mill

1991  Marsha M. Everton, The Pfaltzgraff Co.

1992  Not awarded

1993  Delaine Zimmer Toerper, Tighe Industries

1994  Jody Keller, Keller Resources/Norrell Services

1995  Linda Davidson, C.S. Davidson

1996  Deb Goodling, Drovers Bank

1997  Lorraine Hovis

1998  Carole Register, York Health Systems

1999  Mary Stephenson, York Sunday News

2000  Sally Dixon, Memorial Hospital

2001  Deb Simon, Seligman Friedman

2002  Dr. Wanda Filer

2003  Lynne Pfafflin, Merrill Lynch

2004  Carolyn Schaefer, Wachovia

2005  Coni Wolf, York Container

2006  Jan Herrold, York Counts

2007  Dr. Deborah McMillan, Yorktowne Family Medical

2008  Kim Walsh, Inside Out Consulting

2009  Barbara Carbaugh, Radio Hanover, Inc.

2010  Lynda Randall, New Level Advisors

2011  Debra Stock, YWCA of York

2012  Elizabeth Force Carson, M&T Bank and Dianne L. Moore, Wellspan Women’s Center

2013  Liz Dellinger, York Traditions Bank

2014  Jane Schussler, Stock and Leader, Attorneys at Law

2015  Jean Treuthart, YWCA of York

2016  Lea Nadler, Susquehanna Civil Inc.

2017  Mayor C. Kim Bracey, City of York

2018  Maria Royce, Wellspan Health

2019  Lyn Bergdoll, Distinguished Young Women & Belmont Theatre

2020/2021 Victoria Connor, York Bar Association

2022Dr. Pamela Gunter Smith, York College of Pennsylvania